Podcast Award

The Thessaloniki International Film Festival presents for the first time in its history a new competition section, focusing on the digital audio files that have conquered the planet. In this context, a three-member jury will present a monetary award of 2,000 euros to the best podcast of the 62nd edition.


Jury Members

Alexandra Daskalopoulos was born in Athens, studied Music andPolitical Science at Yale University and then went on to acquire a Master’s in Business Management from the London School of Economics and HEC (Hautes Études Commerciales) in Paris. Having lived in London and worked in the marketing department of Warner Bros Records, and then for Procter & Gamble UK, she returned to Athens and in 2012 founded Frontstage SA, a media group specializing in radio and event productions. She is also a Member of the Executive Committee of the Association of European Radios (AER), the Europe-wide trade body for commercial radio, representing the interests of over 5,000 commercial radio stations to the EU Institution. Alexandra was included in the Greek “Fortune 40 under 40.”

Aris Dimokidis is a journalist, podcaster and author of children’s books. He is working for LiFO, sharing his time between his birthplace, Thessaloniki, and Chalkidiki. He has served as director of lifo.gr, while since 2017 he has created his own website – within LiFO – called Mikropragmata (Little Things). Over the last few years, he has produced one podcast per week, aiming to include something interesting in each episode. He prefers to make audio documentaries, making use of archive material and combining it with research, fresh takes and testimonies on the stories narrated, as well as original material.

Elisavet Chronopoulou studied film at the Stavrakos Film School and the Istituto Lorenzo de’ Medici in Florence. Since 1987 she has worked as an editor and director in film and television. She has directed the films Ursa Minor (2015), Hannibal Ante Portas (2011), A Song is not Enough (2003), Yesterday Afternoon (1998), and Lean on Me (1995). Her short story collection Wearing a Suit was published by Polis Editions in 2013, followed by her short story collection The Other Enemy, which won the Academy of Athens Short Story Prize in 2019 and the State Literature Short Story – Novel Award in 2018.