The Passengers of the Night

Les passagers de la nuit

63rd TIFF: Greek Premiere

On election night in 1981, celebrations spill out onto the street and there is an air of hope and change throughout Paris. But for Elisabeth, her marriage is coming to an end, and she will now have to support herself and her two teenage children. She finds work at a late-night radio show and encounters a troubled teenager named Talulah whom she invites into her home. With them, Talulah experiences the warmth of a family for the first time. Although she suddenly disappears, her free spirit has a lasting influence. Elisabeth and her children grow in confidence and begin to take risks, changing the trajectory of their lives.

Screening Schedule

No physical screenings scheduled.

Direction: Mikhaël Hers
Script: Mikhaël Hers, Maud Ameline, Mariette Désert
Cinematography: Sébastien Buchmann
Editing: Marion Monnier
Sound: Vincent Vatoux, Caroline Reynaud, Sylvain Malbrant, Daniel Sobrino
Music: Anton Sanko
Actors: Charlotte Gainsbourg, Quito Rayon-Richter, Noée Abita, Megan Northam, Thibault Vinçon, Emmanuelle Béart, Laurent Poitrenaux
Production: Nord-Ouest Films, ARTE France Cinéma
Producers: Pierre Guyard
Co-producers: Olivier Père, Rémi Burah
Costumes: Caroline Spieth
Production Design: Charlotte De Cadeville
Executive producer: Ève François-Machuel
Make Up: Sarah Mescoff
Format: DCP
Color: Color
Production Country: France
Production Year: 2022
Duration: 111΄
Distribution in Greece: One from the Heart
Contact: mk2 Films

Mikhaël Hers

Mikhaël Hers was born in Paris, on February 6, 1975. He studied in the Production department at La Fémis and graduated in 2004. He then directed three acclaimed short films: Charell (selected at the Critics’ Week, Cannes 2006), Primrose Hill (his second selection at the Critics’ Week, Cannes 2007, and awarded at Clermont-Ferrand International Short Film Festival), and Montparnasse (selected at the Directors’ Fortnight, Cannes 2009, and winner of the Jean Vigo Prize). After Memory Lane (Locarno Film Festival 2010), This Summer Feeling (Rotterdam Film Festival 2016), and Amanda (in Official Selection at Venice 2018, winner of the Grand Prize at Tokyo IFF, and two nominations at the César Awards), The Passengers of the Night is his fourth feature film.


2006 There and Back Again Lane (short)
2009 Montparnasse
2010 Memory Lane
2015 This Summer Feeling
2018 Amanda
2022 The Passengers of the Night