18th TDF: The Awards

18th Thessaloniki Documentary Festival – Images of the 21st Century
11 – 20 March, 2016

- The Peter Wintonick Audience Award for a film over 45’ in the International Selection goes to:
LANDFILL HARMONIC – A SYMPHONY OF THE HUMAN SPIRIT by Brad Allgood & Graham Townsley, USA, Paraguay, Norway, Brazil, 2015

- The Audience Award for a film under 45’ in the International Selection goes to:
CLAUDE LANZMANN: SPECTRES OF THE SHOAH by Adam Benzine, United Kingdom, Canada, 2015
- The Audience Award for a Greek film over 45’ goes to:
ARGO NAVIS by Susanne Bausinger & Stelios Efstathopoulos, Greece, Germany, 2016
- The Audience Award for a Greek film under 45’ goes to:
VIKTOR ULLMANN: BIOGRAPHY OF A RECORDING by Ioannis Grigoropoulos & Michalis Aristidou, Greece, 2015
The FIPRESCI (International Federation of Film Critics) Jury consisting of:
Melis Behlil, Turkey, President
Sasja Koetsier, Netherlands
Anna Bielak, Poland
Silvestar Mileta, Croatia, and
Georgios Papadimitriou, Greece
Bestows the FIPRESCI award for a Greek film to:
WHISPERS OF THE SKY by Maro Anastopoulou, Greece, 2016
And the FIPRESCI award for an international film to:
WHAT HE DID by Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Denmark, 2015
The Amnesty International Jury consisting of:
Irini Tsolaki (Vice President of the Greek Section of Amnesty International)
Eftihia Voutira (Social Anthropologist, Professor at the University of Macedonia)
Yannis Gkirbas (Journalist, Member of the BoD of Greek Journalists Federation)
Marianna Leondaridou (Film Critic, Member of the Amnesty International – Thessaloniki Team)
Andreas Siadimas (Filmmaker, Producer).
Awards the best film dealing with human rights issues to:
THIS IS EXILE: DIARIES OF CHILD REFUGEES by Mani Y. Benchelah, Lebanon, Switzerland, United Kingdom, 2015

The WWF Jury consisting of:
Amalia Alberini (WWF Greece, Project’s Press & Communication Officer)
Vicky Barboka (“Better Life” Project Associate WWF Greece)
Ιason Kantas (Press Officer WWF Greece)
Alexandros Kandarakis (Head of Digital Communication WWF Greece)
Awards the best film in the HABITAT section to:
RACING EXTINCTION by Louie Psihoyos, USA, 2015
The “Human Values Award” (bestowed by the Hellenic Parliament) Jury consisting of:
Aris Fatouros (Hellenic Parliament TV Channel Program Advisor and Deputy Coordinator)
Panos Kouanis (Hellenic Parliament TV Channel Program & Operations Manager at Hellenic Parliament Television & Radio Station)
Vasilis Douvlis (Film Director)
Awards the best film in the RECORDINGS OF MEMORY section to:
Jury rationale: “The award is bestowed to Leonidas Vardaros’ LUDLOW, Greek Americans in the Colorado Coal War, a film that highlights through rare archival material, an unknown facet in the history of the American labour movement, with focus on the role of the Greek immigrants”.
DOCS IN PROGRESS AWARD 2016The Docs in Progress international jury, consisting of:
Pamela Martinez (Boulder Creek Int., UK)
Miriam Carbe (ZDF/Arte, Germany)
Nikki Heyman (POV, USA).
Awards the best documentary in the Docs in Progress session of the Doc Market to:

AMAL Production Company: ArtKhan, Director/Producer: Mohamed Siam,
Co-producer: Sara Bokemeyer (Detail Film), Egypt, Germany
Jury rationale: “Amal spans the course of 5 years, and we were moved by this longitudinal approach to looking at the Egyptian revolution. We like the idea of seeing Amal growing up with the Egyptian revolution in the background, and reflecting on the political state of her country. Amal is a strong character that we connected with, given her tenacity and strong spirit. The intimate access over these 5 years allows us as viewers to engage in all aspects of her changing life. She lives in a world of contradictions, making her own path and clearing the way for her individuality. With good camera work, great editing, we're looking forward to seeing Amal grow up in this film!” 
The award is accompanied by a 15.000 euro award equivalent to services by the post-production company 2|35 Inc (Greece).
ERT S.A. bestows the Doc On Air award to the best project of the Pitching Forum for international co-production of the European Documentary Network (EDN), with a EDN jury. The award is equivalent to the sum of 3.000 Euros and the transmission rights of the documentary by ERT.
The award is bestowed to:
DEBUT Director: Anastasiya Miroshnichenko, Producer: Volia Chajkouskaya, Belarus
The EDN Award is presented annually during Docs in Thessaloniki to an institution, group or person for outstanding contribution to the development of documentary culture. The 12th EDN Award is presented to Marianne Levy-Leblond, Head of Web and Transmedia Productions within the web department at ARTE France. She receives the award in recognition of her outstanding contribution to the development of the European documentary culture, with her work in the field of online and interactive documentary.