21st Thessaloniki Documentary Festival - The Awards

In the grand evening of the 21st TDF award ceremony, the Golden Alexander was bestowed to the film Advocate, by Rachel Leah Jones and Philippe Bellaiche (Israel-Canada-Switzerland), while the Special Jury Award was granted to the film Midnight Traveler by Hassan Fazili (USA-Qatar-Canada-UK). Check out all the awards, here. 

See you again at the 60th Thessaloniki International Film Festival!


The Awards

The International Jury of the 21st Thessaloniki Documentary Festival comprised of:

Ally Derks, Founder and former Director IDFA (The Netherlands)

Elizabeth Klinck, Visual Researcher (Canada)

Sergi Doladé, Director MEDIMED (Spain)

Simon Lereng Wilmont, Film director (Denmark)

Panayotis Evangelidis, Film director, Scriptwriter (Greece)




THE AWARDS – International Competition

Best Documentary - Golden Alexander for a film over 50’ in the International Competition section:

ADVOCATE by Rachel Leah Jones & Philippe Bellaiche, Israel, Canada, Switzerland, 2019

The Golden Alexander award is accompanied by a €8,000 cash prize


Special Jury Award for a film over 50’ in the International Competition section to:

MIDNIGHT TRAVELER by Hassan Fazili, USA, Qatar, Canada, United Kingdom, 2019

Τhe Special Jury award is accompanied by a €2,000 cash prize



VR / VIRTUAL REALITY FILMS Competition section

The jury of the festival’s VR documentaries Competition section comprised of:

Olivier Semonnay, Sales agent (France)

Areti Leopoulou, Curator, art historian (Greece)

Syllas Tzoumerkas, Film director (Greece)


Bestows the best film award to:

SONGBIRD by Lucy Greenwell, Denmark, UK, 2018

The award is accompanied by a €3,000 prize, sponsored by the Greek Film Centre




- The Peter Wintonick Audience Award for a film over 50’ in the International Selection goes to:
THE SILENCE OF OTHERS by Almudena Carracedo & Robert Bahar, Spain, 2018


- The Audience Award for a film under 50’ in the International Selection goes to:

YESTERDAY/TOMORROW by Raúl Riebenbauer, Spain, 2018


- The Audience Award for a Greek film over 50’ goes to:
THE BAND by Nikos Aslanidis, Greece, 2018


- The Audience Award for a Greek film under 50’ goes to:
THE CANARIES by Giorgos Kivernitis, Greece, 2019

The “Human Values Award” (presented by the Hellenic Parliament) Jury consisted of:

Kostas Dimos (Program Director)
Aris Fatouros (Program Consultant)
Vassilis Douvlis (Film director)

Awards the best film in the International Competition section to:

IN TOUCH by Paweł Ziemilski, Poland, Iceland, 2018



The ERT Hellenic Broadcasting Corporation bestows:

One award accompanied by a €3,000 cash prize to the Greek documentary over 50’ that wins the Fischer Audience Award and goes to:

THE BAND by Nikos Aslanidis, Greece, 2018


The Doc on Air award to the best project of the EDN Docs in Thessaloniki, judged by the EDN committee; the award is accompanied by a €2,000 cash prize sponsored by ERT and goes to the project:

INTIMATE OUTSIDERS by Roser Corella (Producer: Roser Corella, Ana Catalá, Moving Mountains Films, Germany)



The Greek Film Centre bestows two awards:


One to a debut documentary film over 50’ that premieres in the Greek Program section that goes to:

FOSSILS by Panos Arvanitakis, Greece, 2019

The award is accompanied by a €3,000 prize.


One to a film participating in the TDF Agora Doc Market’s Docs in Progress section that is bestowed to:


SCHOOL 54 by Dimitra Kouzi – Greece (Kouzi Productions)

The award is accompanied by a €3,000 prize.



The Amnesty International Jury consisting of:

Andreas Vasileiou (Member of the Human League for Human Rights)

Betty Kaklamanidou (Assistant Professor, School of Film Studies, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)

Marianna Leontaridou (Member of Amnesty International Greece)

Chrysa Tzelepi (Director-Producer)


Awards the best film in the HUMAN RIGHTS section to:

#FEMALE PLEASURE by Barbara Miller, Switzerland, Germany, 2018



The WWF Jury consisting of:
Katerina Christofilidou (Journalist)

Lefteris Fylaktos (Film Director)

Dimitris Karavellas (General Director WWF Greece)


Awards the best film in the HABITAT section to:

SOYALISM by Enrico Parenti & Stefano Liberti, Italy, 2018




The FIPRESCI (International Federation of Film Critics) Jury consisting of:

Carolin Weidner, Germany

Žiga Brdnik, Slovenia

Yannis Totonidis, Greece


Awards the best film of the International Competition section to:

ADVOCATE by Rachel Leah Jones & Philippe Bellaiche, Israel, Canada, Switzerland, 2019


And awards the best Greek film participating in TDF’s international program sections to:

WHEN TOMATOES MET WAGNER by Marianna Economou, Greece, 2018



Bestows an award to the Greek film:

4 LEVELS OF EXISTENCE by Iliana Danezi, Greece, 2019




The WIFT GR Award is presented by the Greek Chapter of WIFT (Women in Film & Television) goes to a woman filmmaker of a film that promotes non-stereotype views on gender and participates in the festival’s official program. The jury is comprised of Antoinetta Angelidi (Film director), Lena Rammou (MEDIA expert) and Rea Walldén (Film theorist), all members of WIFT GR’s Board of Directors, and gives the award to:


BARBARA MILLER for the film #FEMALE PLEASURE, Switzerland, Germany, 2018



The Mermaid Award jury, comprised of Eliana Abravanel (journalist), Miguel Ribeiro (programmer, Doc Lisboa) and Vladan Petkovic (journalist/critic at Cineuropa, Programme director at Kratkofil Plus IFF), bestows the Mermaid Award to the best LGBTQI+ documentary of the festival’s official selection to:


IRVING PARK by Panayotis Evangelidis, Greece, 2019


And a Special Mention to:

MY FATHER IS MY MOTHER'S BROTHER by Vadym Ilkov, Ukraine, 2018




The Youth Jury, comprised of Magdalini Karabasi, Aspasia Angelou, Eleni Bouroutzika, Evangelia Danadaki, Yannis Kozaris and Apostolis Moustakas, students of Thessaloniki Universities, bestows two awards:


Best Film Award to:

MAKE THE ECONOMY SCREAM by Aris Chatzistefanou, Greece, 2019


Special Jury Award to:

THE FIG HOUSE by Pitzi Kampourouglou, Greece, 2018




The TDF’s Doc Market - Docs in Progress international Jury, consisting of:
Rada Šešić - Sarajevo Film Festival, Bosnia & Herzegovina

Elisabeth Hagstedt - Histoire TV, France

Menios Karayiannis - Director, Greece


Bestows two awards:


The first award of up to 15,000 euro in post-production services sponsored by Two Thirty Five (2|35) to:

FOUR SEASONS by Katerina Patroni – Greece (Production: Eleni Chandrinou, Maria Kontogianni, Steficon). The project is also granted free accreditation and accommodation in this year’s edition of Visions du Réel. 


The second award of up to 3,500 euro in music and sound services sponsored by MuSou music company to:

OUR CHOICES by Salah al Ashkar – Syria, France (Production: Etienne de Ricaud, Caractères Productions & Ariel Cypel, L’atelier des artistes en exil)


The new Mediterranean Film Institute (ΜΙΚ) Doc Lab award goes to the project PHOENIX, directed and produced by Daire Collins (Ireland, United Kingdom, Romania, Spain, Germany). The winner is awarded a stipend of 1,200 euros and a stay at Nisyros and Rhodes islands, where MIK takes place.